Certification and the FSI Basket: what European buyers require, and the Kenyan standard that covers all three scopes
For a supermarket, a large wholesaler or a subscription business, certification is not a virtue signal. It is the gating condition for being allowed to quote at all, and the most common reason a credible-looking supplier is rejected at qualification. This page sets out the framework European retail actually buys against, which schemes sit inside it, and what that means for Kenyan origin.
The framework most origin-side content misses
Buyers rarely ask "are you certified?" and leave it there. Large European buyers source against the FSI Basket of Standards, maintained by the Floriculture Sustainability Initiative.
FSI does not issue a certificate of its own. It maintains a list of accepted schemes, benchmarked by independent third parties, and buyers commit to sourcing a proportion of volume certified against schemes in the basket. There are sixteen schemes in it.
The basket has three scopes, and they are benchmarked by three different bodies:
| Scope | Covers | Benchmarked by |
|---|---|---|
| GAP | Good agricultural practice, product safety, traceability | GLOBALG.A.P. performs a document comparison; the FSI Board decides on inclusion. The required level is meeting the overall criteria of the GLOBALG.A.P. standard for flowers and ornamentals |
| Environmental | Crop protection, water, energy, waste | FOOD EXPERTS, an independent third party |
| Social | Labour conditions and worker rights | Consumer Goods Forum SSCI, the reference point for social auditing practices |
Source: FSI 2030, Basket of Standards, read 25 September 2026.
A supplier needs cover in each scope a buyer asks for. That is why farms routinely hold several certificates at once — and why the composition of these lists has real commercial consequences. What you can verify about a supplier before you commit →
The three lists, as published
Three of the schemes on these lists now have pages of their own: the Kenya Flower Council standard, GLOBALG.A.P. for flowers and ornamentals and MPS.
GAP scope
EHPEA Code of Practice · EU Organic Farming · Florverde Sustainable Flowers Standard · FloriCompact · Global G.A.P. Floriculture Standard · Kenya Flower Council Silver Standard · MPS-Compact · MPS-GAP · OHAS Grower Standard · USDA National Organic Program
Alongside GLOBALG.A.P. IFA for floriculture, the IFA Plant Propagation Material and IFA Fruits & Vegetables standards are also accepted.
Environmental scope
FloriCompact · Florverde Sustainable Flowers Standard · Global G.A.P. IDA Module/Add-on · Kenya Flower Council Silver Standard · MPS-ABC · MPS-Compact · MPS-GAP · MPS-SQ · SIZA Environmental Standard
Social scope
Amfori Code of Conduct · EHPEA Code of Practice · ETI Base Code / SMETA · FairTrade Hired Labour Standard · Florverde Sustainable Flowers Standard · Kenya Flower Council Silver Standard · MPS-SQ · Rainforest Alliance Certificate · SIZA Social Standard · SA8000 Standard
The observation worth the whole page
Read the three lists against each other and only two schemes appear in all of them: the Kenya Flower Council Silver Standard, and Florverde Sustainable Flowers Standard.
Florverde is Colombian. The other is Kenyan.
| Scheme | GAP | Environmental | Social |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kenya Flower Council Silver Standard | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Florverde Sustainable Flowers Standard (Colombia) | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| EHPEA Code of Practice (Ethiopia) | ✓ | — | ✓ (see below) |
| GLOBALG.A.P. Floriculture | ✓ | via IDA add-on | — |
| MPS-GAP | ✓ | ✓ | — |
| MPS-SQ | — | ✓ | ✓ |
| Rainforest Alliance | — | — | ✓ |
What follows commercially. A Kenyan grower certified to the Kenya Flower Council Silver Standard has cover in all three FSI scopes from a single Kenyan certification, without separately buying a European scheme. Most schemes in the basket cover one scope or two.
This is a specific, checkable advantage of Kenyan origin, and it is close to absent from English-language content about Kenyan flowers — which tends to reach for scenery and superlatives when it could reach for this.
Derivation, so you can check it. The table is read off the three published lists above and nothing else. If FSI changes a list, the conclusion changes with it. That is why the date is on this page.
A live caveat on Ethiopia and Fairtrade — and a question we cannot answer
The Social list carries a footnote:
"EHPEA & Fairtrade have been placed under Temporary Admission Status to allow completion of the SSCI benchmarking process with a final deadline of 1 July 2026."
That deadline has passed. The note was still published on 25 September 2026 — the page's own metadata gives its last modification as 10 June 2026, before the deadline — and the outcome is not stated on the page. We do not know whether the benchmarking completed, whether temporary admission was extended, or whether anything changed.
We are not going to guess, and nor should you. If your programme depends on Fairtrade social cover, or on an Ethiopian supplier certified to EHPEA, that is a question to put to FSI or to the scheme owner directly before you commit. It is exactly the kind of detail that is invisible until it blocks a qualification.
The Kenyan national standard — an open regulatory question
KS 1758 Part 1 is Kenya's horticulture industry code of practice for floriculture, issued under the Kenyan standards and agriculture authorities. Its scope is unusually broad: it reaches across the value chain to breeders, propagators and producers, and also to consolidators, traders, shippers and cargo handlers.
Whether it is mandatory is disputed in the sources available to us. Certification bodies present it as a mandatory sector standard; Kenyan agricultural press has published the opposite. This site does not state which it is.
The honest formulation is the one we use: KS 1758 Part 1 is Kenya's horticulture industry code of practice for floriculture, and its application to different actors in the chain should be confirmed with the Agriculture and Food Authority or the Kenya Bureau of Standards. A regulatory status is not something to settle from a blog.
And there is a practical obstacle to confirming it, which is worth knowing before you try. The Authority's Horticultural Crops Directorate publishes a "Read KS 1758 code" link and an implementation-guide link, and both point to a subdomain that does not resolve —
ks1758.afa.go.kereturns a non-existent-domain error, checked two ways on 25 September 2026, whileafa.go.keitself is live. So the official portal for this standard is currently unreachable from the Authority's own site. If you need the status settled, approach the directorate directly rather than relying on the published link.
What to ask a supplier
- Which scheme, at which level, and what is the certificate number? A scheme name without a certificate is not evidence.
- Which FSI scopes does it cover — one, two or all three — and does that match what your buyer requires?
- What is the expiry date, and who is the certification body? Certificates lapse, and the audit body matters.
- If the requirement is social cover specifically, confirm the scheme's current basket status rather than assuming last year's list still holds.
And the same standard applies to us. No certification is claimed for Kenya Flower Merchant on this page or anywhere else on this site; who we are, and what we do and do not claim, is stated on the About page →.
What this page does not claim
No certification is claimed for Kenya Flower Merchant anywhere on this site, and none is implied by this page. This is a description of the schemes European buyers purchase against, published so that a buyer can ask better questions. Certification attaches to a certified farm or packhouse with a certificate number and an expiry date, and should always be verified against the issuing body rather than taken from any supplier's website — including this one.
Ready to specify a requirement?
If you can state the product, stem length, head size, quantity, frequency and destination, we can give you a useful answer. If you cannot yet, say so on the form — every technical field has an “I don’t know yet, please advise” option.
Questions buyers ask about certification
What is the FSI Basket of Standards, and why does it matter?
It is the list of sustainability schemes that European buyers source against, maintained by the Floriculture Sustainability Initiative. FSI issues no certificate itself — it benchmarks other schemes and accepts them into a basket covering three scopes: GAP, Environmental and Social. There are sixteen schemes in it. Buyers commit to sourcing a proportion of volume certified against basket schemes, which makes basket membership the practical gate on whether a supplier can be considered at all.
Does one certificate cover everything a European buyer needs?
Usually not, which is why farms hold several. Most basket schemes cover one scope or two. On the lists published at the time of writing, only two schemes appear in all three scopes — the Kenya Flower Council Silver Standard and Colombia's Florverde. So the answer depends entirely on which scheme, and you should ask which scopes it covers rather than accepting "we're certified".
Is there a certification advantage to sourcing from Kenya?
There is a specific and checkable one. A grower certified to the Kenya Flower Council Silver Standard has cover across all three FSI scopes from a single Kenyan certification, without buying a European scheme separately. That is read directly off FSI's published lists. It is an advantage available to certified Kenyan farms — it is not a claim about any particular supplier, and it should be verified certificate by certificate.
We rely on Fairtrade. Is anything changing?
Possibly, and we cannot tell you the outcome. FSI's Social list records that Fairtrade — and Ethiopia's EHPEA — were placed under Temporary Admission Status pending completion of SSCI benchmarking, with a final deadline of 1 July 2026. That date has passed and the published note still stood on 25 September 2026 without stating what happened. Confirm the current status with FSI or Fairtrade directly before relying on it for a programme.
Is KS 1758 mandatory for Kenyan exporters?
The sources conflict and we will not settle it here. KS 1758 Part 1 is Kenya's horticulture industry code of practice for floriculture, with a scope reaching consolidators, traders, shippers and cargo handlers as well as growers. Certification bodies describe it as mandatory; Kenyan agricultural press has reported it as voluntary. Confirm with the Agriculture and Food Authority or the Kenya Bureau of Standards — a regulatory status should not be taken from commentary.
Last verified 25 September 2026
Sources
-
FSI 2030 — Basket of Standards
What we read
The sixteen accepted schemes, the three scopes and their benchmarking bodies, the full GAP, Environmental and Social lists, and the Temporary Admission note on EHPEA and Fairtrade with its 1 July 2026 deadline. All three scope lists on this page are read from here
-
Kenya Flower Council — Flowers and Ornamentals Sustainability Standard
What we read
The Kenyan scheme listed in the FSI Basket as the Kenya Flower Council Silver Standard. Cited for the scheme's existence and ownership
-
Agriculture and Food Authority — Horticultural Crops Directorate service hub
What we read
The Authority to confirm KS 1758 status with — this page states no position on whether it is mandatory. Its published "Read KS 1758 code" and implementation-guide links both point to ks1758.afa.go.ke, which returned a non-existent-domain error on 25 September 2026 by both browser and DNS lookup while afa.go.ke itself resolved normally. The dead link is cited here as a finding, not used as a source